Theta Alpha Kappa

National Honor Society for Religious Studies
Alpha Iota Epsilon Chapter
Howard College

Members (2008 to present)

National website for more information on ΘΑΚ including scholarship and awards.

Officers 2007-2008
William Deal         President
Haylee Ellis          Vice-President
Lacey Jenkins      Secretary / Treasurer

David Bains          Faculty Moderator

Our first induction was held on April 15, 2008, at Taj India in Birmingham.

Members may purchase honor cords to wear with their cap and gown from Beth Gilbert in Chapman 217.  The cost is $10.

To qualify for membership, undergraduates must meet the following requirements:

a) completed a minimum of twelve semester credits (or eighteen quarter credits) in courses representing Religious Studies or Theological Studies at a school with a TAK chapter and attained at least a 3.5 (or B+) GPA therein; qualified courses at Samford include all courses listed, or cross-listed as Religion (RELG or MCRE), and Biblical Perspectives (UCBP 101);
b) attained at least a 3.0 (or B) GPA in their total academic program to date, and
c) be ranked in at least the upper 35% of their class in general scholarship at the time of induction.

Students are evaluated for membership each semester.  Please direct questions concerning membership to Dr. David R. Bains ( 

Resources for Members

Chapter By-Laws


Branch By-Laws